In 2016 Africa had no Airline crash yet EU aviation agency bans 83 African airlines

The European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) has banned 83 airlines from five African countries from flying to Europe because of their weak control and oversight capacity.

SABC news reported on Wednesday that the airlines in Swaziland, Sierra Leone, Equatorial Guinea, Liberia and the Democratic Republic of Congo would be blacklisted from Friday.

Another nine companies in Kazakhstan, Afghanistan, Thailand, Rwanda and Korea were banned for serious shortcomings in safety regulations.

Although not many of the banned airlines flew to European destinations, the ban was imposed to prevent them from being subcontracted and slipping through the net.
The blacklist would be updated every three months and companies could be removed from it if they met EASA standards, the SABC reported.


0 0
Article Tags:
Article Categories:
ATQ News ArchiveAviation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *