Rwandan Ambassador to Nigeria returns as Sports Minister to Kigali

Joseph Habineza is back. (Internet photo)

Joseph HabinezaRwanda’s High Commissioner to Nigeria Joseph Habineza, alias Joe, has been reappointed to Cabinet as new Prime Minister Anastase Murekezi drops seven ministers.

In a new cabinet lineup unveiled this afternoon, the flamboyant Joe returns to the Sports and Culture ministry, only three years after he resigned.

He replaces Protais Mitali.

Agnes Kalibata (Agriculture), Stanislas Kamanzi (Natural Resources) and Jacqueline Muhongayire (East African Community Affairs), alongside Mitali, have been dropped in the cabinet shakeup.

Also dropped are state ministers Dr Anita Asiimwe (Primary and Public Health Care), Dr. Mathias Harebamungu (Primary and Secondary Education) and Emma Françoise Isumbingabo (Energy and Water).

New faces in Cabinet include Gérardine Mukeshimana (Agriculture), Francis Kaboneka (Local Government and Social Affairs), Francis Gatare (CEO, Rwanda Development Board),  Patrick Ndimubanzi (Primary and Public Health Care), Uzziel Ndagijimana (State, Economic Planning), Tony Nsanganira (State, Agriculture) and Olivier Rwamukwaya (State, Primary and Secondary Education).

James Musoni moves from the local government docket to infrastructure, with Prof. Silas Lwakabamba moving from infrastructure to education and former education minister Dr Vincent Biruta taking over the natural resources portfolio.

Former RDB chief executive moves to the EAC affairs ministry.


Prime Minister:
Anastase Murekezi

Agriculture and Animal Resources:
Géraldine Mukeshimana

Cabinet Affairs:
Stella Ford Mugabo

CEO, Rwanda Development Board, and Cabinet Minister:
Francis Gatare

James Kabarebe

Disaster Management and Refugee Affairs:
Séraphine Mukantabana

East African Community Affairs:
Amb. Valentine Rugwabiza

Prof. Silas Lwakabamba

Finance and Economic Planning:
Claver Gatete

Foreign Affairs and Cooperation:
Louise Mushikiwabo

Gender and Family Promotion in the Prime Minister’s Office:
Oda Gasinzigwa

Dr Agnès Binagwaho

James Musoni

Internal Security:
Sheikh Mussa Fazil Harerimana

Johnston Busingye

Local Government and Social Affairs:
Francis Kaboneka

Natural Resources:
Dr Vincent Biruta 

Office of the President:
Vénantie Tugireyezu

Public Service and Labour:
Judith Uwizeye

Sports and Culture:
Joseph Habineza

Trade and Industry:
François Kanimba

Youth and ICT:
Jean-Philbert Nsengimana

State Ministers

Minister of State in the Ministry of Agriculture:
Tony Nsanganira

Minister of State in charge of Primary and Secondary Education:
Olivier Rwamukwaya

Minister of State in charge of Technical and Vocational Education and Training:
Albert Nsengiyumva

Minister of State in charge of Cooperation:
Amb. Eugène-Richard Gasana

State Minister in charge of Public Health and Primary Health Care:
Patrick Ndimubanzi

Minister of State in charge of Energy and Water:
Germaine Kamayirese

Minister of State in charge of Transport:
Dr Alexis Nzahabwanimana

Minister of State in charge of Mining:
Evode Imena

Minister of State in charge of Social Affairs:
Dr Alivera Mukabaramba

Minister of State in charge of Economic Planning:
Dr. Uzziel Ndagijimana

0 0
Article Categories:
ATQ News Updates

No Comment.