Africa: Nigerian Tourism body, FTAN Inaugurates Bayelsa State Committee


Nigeria’s highest tourism body, Federation of Tourism Association Nigeria(FTAN) has inaugurated the organisation’s committee in Bayelsa State.

According to, the committee was inaugurated by the South-South Zonal Officials of the federation led by the Zonal Vice President, Mrs. Justina Ovat, in Bayelsa State.

The event was attended by the Honourable Commissioner of Tourism, Bayelsa State Dr. Iti Orugbani, Senior Special Assistance to the Governor on Tourism, Mr. Priye Kiriyamo, the permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Tourism, Mrs. Tonye Koroye, the President Ijaw National Congress INC, Prof Benjamin Okaba and Dr. Steven Olali the official Historian of the State Government. Also present were the PRO of FTAN South-South zone, Mr. Ekpe Okon, and Mrs. Ime Udo. The Lagos State Coordinator of FTAN.

The Honourable Commissioner, in his address, emphasized that there will be no thriving Ministry of Tourism without FTAN; the Private Sector umbrella body.

READ: Africa: The President of the Federation of Tourism Associations of Nigeria FTAN wants PCT revived by the Government
The newly inaugurated officials promised to promote and develop the activities of FTAN in the State. The chairman said his first assignment will be to bring all the private stakeholders in the industry together and fashion out a way of working in harmony with the State government to promote and develop tourism in the State.

The Vice President, Mrs. Justina Ovat assured them of the support from the national body and said that she is sure Bayelsa, in a short time, will be the tourism hub of the southern region.

The newly inaugurated State officials are:
• Chairman: Tom Inko-Tariah (TCF)
• Vice-Chairman/Deputy Coordinator Chief Osekei (Peretimi) (Nigeria Hotel Association)
• Secretary: Otio Okilo
• Assistant Secretary: Tarela Kia (NANTA/NATOP)
• Membership Secretary: Sunny Pere Agadabiri (YTON)
• Assistant Membership Secretary: Austin Mathais Otuogha
• Publicity Secretary: Alabo William Parker
• Assistant Publicity Secretary: Harry Porbeni
• Financial Secretary: Fidelis Agedah (RABON)
• Assistant Financial Secretary: Priye Jamabo Mrs
• Treasurer: Mrs Josephine T. Akoloh-Isaac Mrs
• Assistant Treasurer: Sarah Orwoufiniere Alfred (NANTA)
• Legal Adviser: Barr Dortimi Ayabowei
• Welfare Secretary: Mr Sly Sede
• Assistant Welfare Secretary: John Karinate
• Travel and Tour Secretary: Olali Isobo Joshua
• Travel and Tour Assistant Secretary: Welson Ebiakuboere Sophia
• Timipre Duba Sec 1
• Priye Owei. Sec 2
• Ex Officio Member: Dr Marshall Odede
• Transport/Logistics Secretary: Comrade Emina
• ICT: Ebiere Egbjejule

0 0
Article Tags:

No Comment.