Tourism: Bulelwa Msengi, Park Manager, South African National Parks (SANParks), Wins Africa Travel 100 Women Award

National Parks

Bulelwa Msengi, Park Manager for Bontebok National Park under the umbrella of South African National Parks (SANParks), has won the coveted Africa Travel 100 Award which recognises exceptional women in the travel and tourism sector.

She started her career at SANParks in 2006 as an Administration Officer in Bontebok. Since then she advanced to become Duty Manager and later Park Manager of Bontebok in 2010-2012.

After spending six years in Bontebok and working tirelessly to better herself, she then was appointed as Park Manager in Agulhas National Park and later transferred to Park Manager in Tsitsikamma National Park. Miss Msengi also worked as Senior Manager: Tourism for the Cape Region before she was then transferred back to Bontebok.

During her time in Agulhas, she served as a non-Executive Board Member for the Agulhas Tourism Association. She is currently involved with other stakeholders in Swellendam in starting a Destination Marketing Organisation to serve and promote tourism in the area.

READ: Africa: Managing Director CMD Tourism and Trade Enterprise Cecile Mambo Wins Africa Travel 100 Women Award

Bulelwa is passionate about education and mentoring young and upcoming individuals who are eager to learn/ have potential in excelling. She has vast experience in customer service excellence and conservation management.

Bulelwa grew up in a rural village KwaBhaca in the Eastern Cape and attended primary and high school there. She then went to further her studies in East London/Cape Town and graduated with a National Diploma in Tourism Management at the then Cape Technikon in 2004.

She also holds a Btech degree Tourism Management from CPUT and Management Leadership Development Programme with Wits Business School in 2018 as well as Post-graduate Diploma in Business Management from MANCOSA in 2020.

She initially joined SANParks as an intern in 2002/3, temporary reception in 2005 before permanently joining the organisation is 2006.



Subscribe to Our Newsletter.

Enter your email address and click Sign up to receive our updates.

0 0

No Comment.