Africa: DR Congo Has Been Endorsed By The Council Of Ministers To Join The East African Community As The Seventh Member State


The EAC Council of Ministers, chaired by Kenya’s EAC Affairs and Regional Development Cabinet Secretary Adan Mohamed, gave the nod during an extraordinary meeting on Monday, November 22, in Arusha, Tanzania in a report published by

The Democratic Republic of Congo has been endorsed by the Council of Ministers to join the East African Community (EAC) as the seventh member state. “The Summit of EAC Heads of State at their 21st Ordinary Meeting held on 27th February 2021, directed the EAC Council of Ministers to expeditiously undertake a verification exercise in accordance with the EAC Criteria for Admission of Foreign States,” the council said.

READ: Africa: EAC Nations Launch “Tembea Nyumbani” a Tourism Media Campaign to Further Grow Intra Regional Travel

An EAC team visited DRC from June 26 to July 5 to verify the country’s level of conformity to the Treaty for the Establishment of the EAC.

“DRC shares borders with five of the EAC Partner States; namely Tanzania, Burundi, Rwanda, Uganda and South Sudan,” says the report tabled by the Council of Ministers.

“There is a sense of belonging and attachment to EAC socially, economically, historically, culturally and geographically.”

0 0
Article Tags:

No Comment.